Return to Headlines

New Jersey's First Lady Mrs. Tammy Murphy Visits Whitehouse School


The Governor of New Jersey’s office reached out to Whitehouse School Principal, Dr. Ann DeRosa to coordinate a visit from the First Lady.  As a recipient of sustainability awards the First Lady, Mrs. Tammy Murphy was interested in visiting Readington’s Whitehouse School.  Dr. DeRosa and Superintendent, Dr. Jonathan Hart were thrilled with the honor of a visit from our First Lady on June 19, 2019.  Mrs. Murphy was greeted by not only Dr. DeRosa and Dr. Hart but the Mayor of Readington, Mrs. Betty Ann Fort; Deputy Mayor, Mr. John Albanese; and Readington Board of Education members, Mr. Jared Beatrice, Mr. Ray Egbert, Mrs. Carol Hample, Mr. Eric Zwerling. The students of Whitehouse School presented Mrs. Murphy with their R-E-S-P-E-C-T school t-shirt, a paper hat made in the Whitehouse School Maker Space/Tinker Lab, and signs for the First Lady to take home.  Mrs. Murphy was guided on a tour of the school’s courtyard which is being enhanced through one of the Sustainability Grants awarded to Whitehouse School.  Mrs. Murphy learned about our school’s River-Friendly, Sustainability, Outdoor Learning, Student Voice Leadership Initiatives, School Character & Community programs and enjoyed tours of Whitehouse School’s SEL Lounge.  She visited the Sensory Garden and Garden Program, where our Grab-and-Go Harvest was underway.  Mrs. Murphy’s visit concluded with the entire school singing The Fifty Nifty United States song. This was an exciting day for our students, teachers, and community. 

Whitehouse School is the recipient of the following Sustainability Awards:  2019 River-Friendly Watershed Level Award from Raritan Headwaters Association & New Jersey Waters Supply Authority, 2019 Investors Bank Grant for Outdoor Courtyard Enhancements, 2019 Sustainability Jersey for Schools-NJEA Grant, 2018 New Jersey Sustainable Schools Silver Level Award, 2017 National School of Character (5-year distinction), 2017 New Jersey School of Character (5-year distinction), 2017 Energy Star School, U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon School Award Recipient, 2015 New Jersey Sustainable Schools Silver Level Award (3-year distinction), 2015 Sustainable Jersey for Schools-NJEA Grant, 2015 Eco-Schools USA Silver Award, and 2014 New Jersey Department of Education High Performing Rewards School Grant.


First Lady Superintendent Principal & Board

In Photo (Left to Right-First Row): Dr. Ann DeRosa-Principal, Mrs. Tammy Murphy-First Lady, Dr. Jonathan Hart-Superintendent (Second Row) Mr. John Albanese-Deputy Mayor, Mrs. Betty Ann Fort-Mayor, Mrs. Carol Hample-BOE Member, Mr. Jared Beatrice-BOE Member, Mr. Don Race-Facilities Manager, Mr. Ray Egbert-BOE Member, and Mr. Eric Zwerling-BOE Member.

Mrs. Mielke's Class

In Photo (Left to Right): Mrs. Mielke-First Grade Teacher and Mrs. Tammy Murphy-First Lady.  Back Row:  Evan Millette, Alexa Marchese, Nicholas Lobo Setti, John Clarke, Evangeline Fearon, Brynn Van Lenten, Nikolas Albanese.   Middle Row:  Cayden Betz, Andrew Wells, Vincenza Galdo, Amelia Guaicha.  Front Row:  Roselyn Taveras, Meleida Lopez de Paz, Autumn Myers, Jeffrey Mongillo.


First Lady with Signs

In Photo (Left to Right) Back Row:  Whitehouse Cubby and Mrs. Tammy Murphy, First Lady.  Middle Row: Sara Egbert, Cara Van Lenten, Amanda Handel, Alexia Yukniewicz, Zachary Stevens, Warren Fuhrman.   Front Row:  Samantha Saunders, Gary Sheldon, Theresa Egbert, Valentina Lopez-Ramirez, Isabella Koenitzer.

First Lady with Hats

In Photo (Left to Right): Mrs. Schlosser-Kindergarten Teacher, Mrs. Tammy Murphy-First Lady, and Mrs. Heppner-Kindergarten Instructional Aide.

Mrs. Y's Class

In Photo (Left to Right):  Nicholas Saini, Michael Hills, Mrs. Tammy Murphy-First Lady, Clara Peters, and Cara Van Lenten.



Doreen Harris/908-534-2897